Eleven Tsuki

I founded it in 2012 with Nathalie, simply because we enjoyed writing/blogging, and the idea of starting a review site kinda hit us after I wrote a review of Kuroko no Basuke on my own personal blog (because I was such a sports anime trash – still am).

And so we did it.

We started small, with just the two of us, a .blogspot.com domain hosted by Blogger, and a lot of free time to spare for binge watching anime, reading manga, and writing reviews. Then we got busier, and content was coming in slow, so there was a short period of hiatus. Then we started recruiting, and our team eventually grew to the current team of 8. Also, we shifted our site to WordPress and also bought our own domain – www.eleventsuki.com

You have no idea how proud I was when we launched the new site.

We’re not exactly super successful now or anything, and we’re always trying to improve through trial and error, but I hope that we can contribute something to the growth of our local ACG community. It also delights us when we hear from fellow ACG fans that they have read things from our site.

Through Eleven Tsuki, I have met various new people as well as provided with many interesting experiences and media opportunities, all of which I am very grateful for.

To name a few…

 


 

Cosplayers

1. I interviewed internationally famous cosplayers. 

While I wouldn’t exactly call myself a fan, I still adore their costume and prop making skills, as well as all of the very amazing photo shoots, and of course their almost-perfect portrayal of various ACG characters. It’s nice to be able to speak to them and hear of their stories behind-the-scenes, especially the hardships and effort put into all of their cosplay projects.

The following are international cosplayers that I’ve met/saw:

  1. Liui Acquino – from Philippines, famous for his cosplay of Hiccup from How To Train Your Dragon 2
    2. Yaki/YaQie –  from China, member of Silence Snary (杭州304)
    3. Reika – from Japan, active in the cosplay scene for over 21 years, known for various works
    4. Shimo – from Taiwan, known for her portrayal of Kotori Minami from Love Live!
    5. Jin – from United States, famous for her cosplay of Hiro from Big Hero 6
    6. stayxxxx – from Taiwan, known for her cosplay of Levi (Attack on Titan) and Makoto (Free!)

Cosplayers 2

Of course, I have also met/seen/email interviewed many local Cosplayers who are internationally famous as well. My favorites would be Fujiwara Kazuko, Weon Haur, and Ying Tze. Amazing costume and prop makers! Forever amazed by their mad sewing/crafting skills.

 

Celebrities

2. I got to meet/see/speak to celebrities/public figures/just really cool people.

Some I interviewed, some I just watched from off-stage, some I just greeted as they wALK PAST ME. Again, I’m not a fan, but it’s still cool to be able to meet all these cool people, don’t you think? I also came to be inspired by some of them, or learn new things after speaking to them/listening to their speech.

1. Danny Choo – founder of Culture Japan (aka Datuk Jimmy Choo’s son)
2. Zwei – Japanese duo band
3. GARNiDELiA – Japanese music unit, consisting of Maria and Toku (aka Headphone Tokyo)
4. Gazelle/yanaginagi/Yanagi Nagi – Japanese singer
5. Designers of Final Fantasy XV
6. May’n/Mei Nakabayashi – Japanese J-pop artist

 

Sliders
First row: PhotoScape; Second row: Paint.NET and Photoshop; Third row: Photoshop

3. I learned how to use Adobe Photoshop.

 I started using it in the first place because I had to make sliders for our site. I first made them using PhotoScape and Paint.NET, but eventually felt that it’s not enough so I ventured to PhotoShop. Quite proud of myself for learning everything on my own.

From literally knowing nothing about Photoshop to being able to remember short cuts and also finding little ways to cheat my way through editing… I think I did a good job at teaching myself how to use this software. Not like I’m some Photoshop Master now, but I think I know enough to do what I need to do, and that’s good I guess.

P.S: Also eventually started to learn how to use Adobe Illustrator, which was… okay.

 

Events

4. I could attend local ACG events – for free.

SERIOUSLY THIS IS MY FAVOURITE.

It’s not really the ticket price that bugs me, it’s mostly the fact that you have to enter and exit event halls only at certain doors, and also don’t forget the long queues. With media pass, I get to enter and exit at any doors and also get to skip the queues, isn’t that just great?!

Thank you dear organizers for such media privileges.
But with great “power” comes great responsibility, so of course I take the best pictures that I can when I cover an event. In some sense, it’s work and play at the same time.

My favourite part of that would be when I am covering stage activities. While it does gets really tiring and dangerous – ie. bumping into other photographers, tripping on the stage cloth thing, standing up and squatting down repeatedly to not block the audience, etc – it’s still interesting. Also gives me the best view of what’s going on so I’m grateful.

 

Untitled-1

5. I got to meet many new people. 

While I am aware of the existence of numerous senpais in our ACG community, I don’t exactly have connections with them until Eleven Tsuki happened. We are on good terms with quite a number of them, and I think we only manage to achieve that because we were able to meet through “work”.

Fact: Aside from Nathalie, I didn’t know any of the other Eleven Tsuki team members in real life, until they joined the team.

 

 


 

One of my biggest wish would be to able to work on Eleven Tsuki full-time, but considering the fact that our content are not news-based, that would be difficult for us to expand even further.

While I don’t know how far Eleven Tsuki can go, I hope we can continue to contribute more to the growth of the Malaysian ACG scene for as long as we are around.

This is not an anniversary post, but thank you for the great 3 years! Our 4th year is doing pretty good so far, let’s celebrate our 4th anniversary this year aite.

 

Sorry for always being MIA.
Am really grateful for every single person who joined the team.
Love y’all ❤

One Reply to “Eleven Tsuki”

Leave a Reply

