After the Diploma: The Big ‘C’

As many would know, I just completed my diploma programme just recently. Due to various reasons, I will not be pursuing my degree here – honestly speaking, I’m not even sure if I will be pursuing a degree anywhere else.

Many have told me that it’s a waste if I don’t continue studying, since I do well at studying, though I don’t really think so.

tumblr_nyn0qiKDwJ1shlzd0o1_540

I don’t enjoy studying. I enjoy learning new things, and I would voluntarily learn new things that interests me – but that does not mean that I enjoy studying because most of the time it just makes me feel really miserable and go into states of emotional fits and tantrums.

And then people start asking me the one question that I’ve been hearing for the past month or so.

“So what are your plans now?”

As someone who have been told to think about their future since 13 years old, you’d expect me to have already figured out what I want to do in life. But no, I’m still lost and confused. Since I will not be pursuing a degree at this current time (though I am considering to apply for free scholarships to pursue a degree overseas), I have to start thinking about the Big “C”.

Career

Some people say, “find a job that you will enjoy because it’s what you’ll be doing for the rest of your life until you retire”.

Some also say that you should “earn as much money as you can while you’re still young, and when you have financial freedom, you can do whatever you want”.

I don’t know about you, but I’m not the type who would force myself into doing something that I don’t like. I believe that I shouldn’t get a job just for the sake of earning money. I’m not saying that money is not important – of course it is, especially when our currency and living standards aren’t on par – but I also want to be able to at least enjoy some days of my work despite the stress that comes with the work load and responsibilities.

And now being the Mass Comm student, I have many career paths to choose: Public Relations, Event Management, Journalism, Broadcasting, Film, and Advertising.

I can’t really make a decision because now that I’m done with diploma, I am beginning to doubt myself in regards to what I am truly passionate about, and what are my capabilities in each of these industries?

But the undeniable fact is that: all of these industries are those where you will most likely not be able to have enough rest for most times.

ed97c81bjw1exh68p2nyoj20mk0bjt9f

It’s mid-April, and I’m still stuck at home on most days. After talking to some people, I decided to start doing something before I begin to lose the motivation to do anything. I turned to Google for some advice…

Capture

Most of the articles mentioned the Myers-Briggs Personality Types (whose test I have done like, three times, and got the same result for each so I’m quite sure of my type), and checking out what career types would be suitable for your personality type, and so I did.

Let’s just say I did a good job on deciding to study Mass Communications.

Of course, I only wrote down the relevant ones. I don't think I can
Of course, I only wrote down the relevant ones. I don’t think I can become a Zoologist right.

But this puts me in an even more difficult position because I’m not very good at making decisions.

I do get envious of people who seem to be doing so well in their life, but I guess it’s the result of unspoken hard work, effort, and various obstacles that were overcame.

I’ve spent one and a half months “resting” (aka wasting time) and right now I think I really need to start doing something other than watching TV shows and movies at home.


 

So what’s the conclusion of this post?

Well, I don’t really have one right now. I’m just writing this to organize my thoughts into a blog post that I can look back to and laugh at myself in the near future.

Right now, my priority is to go out there and try things out. I am quite sure that I will have to face various challenges, and might even give up and change paths somewhere along the way.

I’m still young, so let’s just say I have some time to figure my life out.

Shall I get accepted into the 2017 KGSP, I’ll talk about it.

 

More daily rants to come,

x

Leave a Reply

