Turning 20: Things That Hit Hard In 2016

Hello, I’m back.

I just turned 20 two days ago (18th November!), and well…. it didn’t make much of a difference.

My student life pretty much ended after my exams last year, and the only academic paper that I wrote after that was my internship report, so there’s that. Many things happened, some were great, some were traumatizing, some were just weird – but all that made who I am today.

Friends have been commenting on my slight change of attitude/personality after I started working, and I guess the beliefs and principals that I uphold right now are probably very different from those that 18 year old Jane used to.

My 19th year have been a roller coaster ride, and now that I’m stepping into my 20th, I hope it’ll be one worth remembering. So, here are 20 things that have hit particularly hard this year.

This post was inspired by Nathalie, who told me that she would be doing a post like this, so I stole her idea, again. You can check hers out at her blog!


1. If you have nothing nice to say, keep your mouth shut.

I have a lot of nasty things to say, but I realized that they don’t do any good to the relationship or the situation, so… just shut up.

 

2. It’s okay if you don’t like the same things as other people.

Somehow, I learned to stop pretending like I like/am interested in things that my friends are talking about. I mean yeah, go on ahead and get excited and tell me about things that you like, but I’ll like what I like.

 

3. Don’t go broke trying to look rich.

Image result for tumblr look rich

#truth

 

4. Don’t ruin your entire day just because of a 10-second encounter with someone who doesn’t matter. 

There are many other little things in life to be grateful for. Blessings may be under the disguise of rain storms. Don’t let life bring you down! 💪💪💪

 

5. Things may not work out the way you wanted them to, but everything will eventually fall into place. 

fannythumbs

Everything is going to be fine. Until then, go ahead and cry, but don’t let it bring you down.

 

6. Friendships need commitment and effort. 

You can’t always wait for other people to talk to you first. Don’t be afraid of rejection and go approach them first. Also, I guess you’ll eventually find out who’s a friend worth keeping, and who’s not.

 

7. Don’t buy clothes that you won’t wear more than 3 times. 

Image result for tumblr nothing to wear

*proceeds to throw out/giveaway 20% of the wardrobe during spring clean*

 

8. The golden rule of friends: Quality over quantity.

It looks all fun and cool to hang out in a big group, taking nice photographs and posting them on social media to show off or whatever. But I realized that 80% of those big group of friends aren’t willing to go through 💩 with me, or walk with me when I need support. Only a small part are willing to, and those are the ones who I will treasure forever. ❤️

 

9. Be open to try new things. 

I tried a lot of new things while I was interning – Capoeira, Muay Thai, Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, Kickboxing, etc. I didn’t fall in love with any of the sports, or considered getting serious with it, but those were pretty good experiences.

 

10. Health is wealth.

I grew up as a pretty healthy kid until I hit 12 years old, and that’s where my health started going downhill-ish. It’s gotten better now, but I’m still weaker than most of my peers. (Check: Fact #9) I wish I took better care of myself, but I guess it’s not too late to start now?

Long story short, take good care of your body, guys.

 

11. Stop sleeping at 4am to binge watch a TV series.

Image result for tumblr binge watching not worth it

 

12. Your company won’t die without you.

You’re replaceable, really. So don’t overwork yourself! But of course, don’t slack too much either, do the work that you’re supposed to!

 

13. Learn to eat the food that you don’t like, but are good for you.

Image result for kpop disgusted gif

It’s yucky, but yeah, eat it. Things like… vegetables.

 

14. See a cat, greet a cat. 

Image result for kpop cats

Always “meow”. Or you will regret.

 

15. See a dog, greet a dog. 

Image result for happy puppy gif

Always say hi to the puppers. ❤
Or you will definitely regret.

 

16. It’s okay to watch movies alone at the cinema.

Whether it’s a romantic comedy film, horror movie, action film, or an animation film, just go ahead and watch it alone if nobody wants to watch it with you. The only downside is that you don’t get to spazz/complain about it to/with someone after the movie is over.

But oh, watch it on a Wednesday, because the tickets are cheaper then. 😂

 

17. You don’t have to win every argument.

I’m quite a competitive person, and I would always want to win in arguments/debates, to prove that I’m right. But I came to realize that, sometimes, you might win the argument, but what do you get out of it? A damaged relationship/friendship?

This is kind of related to #1, but yeah, learn when to hold your tongue and back down.

Image result for you win tumblr

 

18. You don’t have to expose your wound to the world.

Not the literal wound, but emotional wounds. In a sense that, don’t go telling the whole world about how emotionally hurt you are, how mentally drained you are, etc. If you need someone to talk to, personally approach them and talk about it, don’t just post it on Facebook.

You’re just going to look more like an attention seeker, and people will probably laugh about it behind your back, or take advantage of that.

 

19. Appreciate those who love you.

Other than your family, you don’t really get to come across many people who genuinely loves and cares about you. But when you do, don’t take them for granted. Show your appreciation from time to time – say thank you, buy them a gift, bring them out for a meal, etc.

 

20. Embrace the good vibes. 

Every cloud has a silver lining, and every accident makes a good story to tell. Don’t get too caught up by the negative feelings, and look on the bright side. You’ll see that blessing that’s disguised by the rain, eventually.

Image result for taeyeon happy gif

 


I don’t know if these things will become irrelevant to me as I grow older, but at this moment, this is what I believe in. Thank you to all who have made me who I am today.

I’m still learning, making mistakes and doing embarrassing things along the way, but please bear with me. ❤

I don’t know what people view me as, but for whatever good things you see in me, I would like to give all the credit to my heavenly Father, who has provided me with many good people, good opportunities, and guided me along this rocky road, up until today.

 

For through wisdom your days will be many, and years will be added to your life.” – Proverbs 9:11

 

Until my next post, xx

Leave a Reply

